We CAN Be Friends

Today we had a special visit from Mrs. Pakenham to talk about We CAN Be Friends. She will be coming into our classroom over the next few weeks to talk about friendship and empathy in preparation for Autism Awareness Month in April.

IMG_3387 IMG_3389 IMG_3390 IMG_3393 IMG_3394
IMG_3395IMG_3396 IMG_3397

What does the CAN stand for in “We CAN Be Friends”?

What are the five senses? How are the senses different in people with autism?

What special super sense did your superhero have?

13 thoughts on “We CAN Be Friends

  1. Dear Mrs. Kostiuk!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    I remember that the word CAN stands for canucks autism network! 🙂 The five sense’s are: Hearing, Feeling, Tasting, Smelling, Eye sight, people with autism the senses are a little different because they can be more sensitive then other people! :)My very special superhero had hearing powers!! 🙂
    From Presley!! 🙂

    • Hi Janasha!

      It’s great to hear from you again. I hear you may be coming to our school with your class for a visit soon to do some skipping and some math? We are really looking forward to it :).

      Mrs. Kostiuk

      • IH Mrs.K !
        I hoped you would reply. I hope Mr.S will let me skip with the class oh and we perobibly will come over and do finger math we will explane what it is. See you!
        Love: Janasha !

    • Dear Olivia,

      I hope you feel better soon, we miss you! I was thinking it might work best for you to do attendance next week…Kris has been filling in this week! Rest up and hope to see you soon 🙂

      From Mrs. Kostiuk

  2. Dear mrs.k

    CAN stands canucks autism network.
    the five senses are touch,smell,see,taste,here.
    my sense I gave my super is smell.

    love sakari.

  3. Mrs. k

    the can means canuck
    touch hearing taste smell sight
    People with autism hear quiet sound
    my soper pinkis had soper smart pawers!

    from Parker

  4. dear mrs. kostiuk

    my five senses are smill smart tast hear sight and CAN the c standes canucks autism network. My superhero’s special sense was hearing

    from evan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *