Pizza Math

To help us understand the concept of fractions, we decided pizza might do the trick ;)!

First we cut the pizza into halves. Each piece is 1/2 of the pizza.

First we cut the pizza into halves. Each piece is 1/2 of the pizza.

Next we cut the pizza into quarters. Each piece is 1/4 of the pizza.

Next we cut the pizza into quarters. Each piece is 1/4 of the pizza.

Then we cut the pizza into eighths. We each got 1/8 of a pizza.

Then we cut the pizza into eighths. We each got 1/8 of a pizza.

What other foods could you use to show fractions? How would you cut them?

13 thoughts on “Pizza Math

  1. dear mrsk.
    I love pizza math. fraksuns are so fun. I cod cut a appel in qurtrs I cod shar wife theer uve my frens.

    from william.

  2. Dear Mrs. K.

    Pizza math looks fun, delicious and educational! I would use Chocolate Cake to learn fractions and I would cut it in two!! One half for you and one half for me!! 😃

    From Mrs. Wiebe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *