Feathers and Fools

Our class, along with Mrs. Taggart’s grade 2 class, recently explored a learning sequence on the book Feathers and Fools.

 

Throughout this sequence, we focused on powerful questioning and predicting. The final task involved writing in role as the baby swan or peacock to show what life was like for them on the first day they were born. Mrs. Taggart and I were so impressed with our students’ participation in these activities. Here are a few samples of some of the activities we did:

IMG_2957 IMG_2956 IMG_2955

“I hatched out of my egg and felt the breeze of the soft wind coming to my wet feathers and I tried to make my way to the peacock…”
 (Parker)IMG_2960

       “I pecked my way out. It was a hot day on the day I was born. It was quiet, a little too quiet. I was curious why there wasn’t any more of me. And then I saw it. There was something over there. Could it be? Another swan? I waddled over there as fast as my little legs could carry me…”
(Eden) 

IMG_2959

 

Why did Mrs. Taggart and I pick this story to read to you?

What is the important message in this story?

One thought on “Feathers and Fools

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *